CEH is a public-sector research centre and part of UK Research and Innovation's Natural Environment Research Council (UKRI NERC)*. NERC and CEH have been working with Government to consider the future Governance, Responsibilities and Ownership arrangements. The Minister of State for Universities, Science, Research and Innovation agreed that plans for CEH to become an independent research institute (company limited by guarantee with charitable status) should move into preparation. In the meantime, CEH will continue to deliver its world-class science as part of NERC.

CEH management and infrastructure

Director Mark J Bailey is responsible for the review of CEH's governance and ownership and leads the organisation through a number of boards and committees:

  • Executive Board is responsible for the operational policies and procedures of CEH. It comprises Director CEH, Science Directors, Director People and Operations, and Director Impact & Innovation. It is supported by committees which focus on key areas such as finance, people & skills and estates management.
  • Science Board is responsible for developing, reviewing and delivering the research portfolio to achieve CEH's Science Strategy, within the resources delegated by the Executive Board. It comprises Director CEH (observing), Science Directors (alternating Chair), Director Impact & Innovation, Science Area Heads and Head of National Capability (Secretary) and is attended by Directors Resource and Operation and Business and Finance as required.

Details of the Directors

External advice

CEH receives independent advice from two external groups:


CEH receives national capability funding from NERC, as well generating competitively won income primarily from the Research Councils, government departments and agencies, EU Research and Innovation Programmes and international public and private sectors.
Further details are contained in the NERC Annual Report.

The Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee is responsible for providing strategic advice to CEH Directors. It comprises representatives of our main stakeholders, as well as independent policy and commercialisation experts.

Terms of Reference

  • Developing a long-term vision for CEH.
  • Enhancing the profile of CEH as one of the foremost environmental research centres internationally.
  • Developing overall priorities and opportunities for furthering the CEH mission.
  • Expanding CEH's outreach and liaison with its main user groups.
  • Reviewing the role of CEH staff in providing scientific advice and communication.
  • Improving management policy and administration.
  • Reviewing the context of the Centre's Annual Report and Corporate Plan.

Advisory Committee membership

Prof Nick Butler
  • Visiting Professor and chair of the King's Policy Institute, King's College London
Lord Ewen Cameron of Dillington
  • Director of Dillington Park Farms Ltd
  • Cross-Bench Member of the House of Lords
Ms Fiona Fox OBE
  • Chief Executive of the Science Media Centre

Prof Iain Gillespie

  • Pro-Vice Chancellor of Research and Enterprise at the University of Leicester
Mr Lindsay Hargreaves
  • Managing Director of Frederick Hiam Ltd
Dr Phil Heads
  • Associate Director, Strategy & Evidence, NERC

Prof Louise Heathwaite

  • Professor of Land and Water Science, LEC, Lancaster University
  • Chief Scientific Advisor for Rural Affairs & Environment at the Scottish Advisory Council

Prof Paul Leinster CBE

  • Professor of Environmental Assessment, Cranfield University
Mr Benet Northcote
  • Group Director of Corporate Responsibility, John Lewis Partnership
Prof Steve Ormerod
  • Professor of Ecology, Cardiff University
  • Chairman of the RSPB Council
Prof Mark Bailey
  • Centre Director, CEH
Dr Nick Wells
  • Director of Impact & Innovation, CEH


The Science Development Group (SDG)

The Science Development Group (SDG) advises CEH on its Science Strategy and on the quality of its science delivery. SDG members meet with the Director CEH and Science Directors every year. Two SDG members provide expertise on each CEH Science Area and interact with science activities, including meeting the Science Area Lead annually. The SDG Chair is also a member of the CEH Advisory Committee.

Terms of reference

  • Advising on the CEH Science Strategy.
  • Advising on the development and integration of CEH Science Areas.
  • Providing expertise on Science Areas, advising on recent developments and making a critical assessment of current and future priorities.
  • Reporting to the CEH Advisory Committee and considering the impact of CEH activities and outputs.

Science Development Group membership

Prof Steve BanwartUniversity of Sheffield
Prof Richard BardgettUniversity of Manchester
Prof Ian BatemanUniversity of East Anglia
Dr Giovanni BidoglioEuropean Commission Joint Research Centre
Prof Gordon BlairLancaster University
Paul DaviesMet Office
Prof Bob FerrierJames Hutton Institute
Prof Sue HartleyUniversity of York
Prof Alison HesterJames Hutton Institute
Dr Hefin JonesCardiff University
Prof Kevin JonesLancaster University
Prof Ally LewisUniversity of York
Mr Ian LiskHead of Natural Hazards, Met Office
Prof Lorraine MaltbyUniversity of Sheffield
Prof Juliet OsborneUniversity of Exeter
Prof Dave RaffaelliUniversity of York
Prof John ReesBritish Geological Survey
Dr Andy StottDefra
Prof Andrew WadeUniversity of Reading
Prof Susan WaldronUniversity of Glasgow
Prof Doug WilsonEnvironment Agency

*UKRI was established by the Higher Education and Research Act 2017 and brought together the seven existing research councils, Innovate UK and the research and knowledge exchange functions of the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE).