To further support the development of the FDRI project and to help shape plans, particularly in the selection of observatories and our ability to address the science questions identified by the community, a Community Advisory Group has been set up.

The aim of this group is to assist the FDRI Project Board in reviewing our plans, particularly in relation to key decisions (e.g., which basins to instrument, the design of infrastructure), and staying true to our mission (our ability to address the community science questions identified at the outset).

The CAG has now been appointed and is actively supporting the Planning and Design phase of the project. The members represent a diverse group from across the hydrological community; we appreciate their involvement and dedication in helping us to refine options. The group is chaired by the FDRI Chief Science Advisor (Prof. Nick Chappell, Lancaster University) who also has a role on the FDRI Project Board.

CAG members

The CAG will provide important advice during the prioritisation of infrastructure options. Members include:

Name Organisation Specialism/Area
Sean Longfield

EA (Nominated)

Regulatory authority

Hannah Cloke Reading University Hazard management
Joseph Holden  Leeds University Catchment management and hydrological processes
David Hannah Birmingham University Catchment management and hydrological processes
Lindsay Beevers Edinburgh University Civil engineering and innovative digital
Nick Chappell (CSA/Chair) Lancaster University Catchment management and hydrological processes
Jamie Hannaford UKCEH Hydrological modelling
Steve Kaye UKWIR Water industry
Andrew Tyler Stirling University EO and remote sensing, sustainability / net zero
Tom Griffin STFC  Digital Infrastucture
Isabelle Durance Cardiff University Ecology, biodiversity and water quality
Peter Singleton  SEPA Regulatory authority
Ben Kidd  ARUP  Industry rep / innovation
Imogen (Imi) Barnsley JBA Consulting, Industry rep / early career
Dani Durston NERC FDRI SRO: Major Programmes
George Colley NERC FDRI Major Programmes
Leo Newport NERC FDRI Programme assurance; major programmes
Nicki Badcock NERC FDRI Science assurance; head of capital
Wendy Matcham NERC Head of resilient environments
Michelle Manning NERC Senior programme manager: resilient environments
Simon Gardner NERC Head of digital