The FOR-RESTOR network was initiated through a UKRI Natural Environment Research Council Global Partnerships Seedcorn Fund and has since grown to include more than 30 partners and collaborators based in organisations across the world.

If you would like to get involved, email

Principal investigator: Dr Lindsay F Banin, UK Centre for Ecology & Hydrology

Co-investigator: Prof David Burslem, University of Aberdeen

Co-investigator: Dr Lucy Rowland, University of Exeter

Group of 24 people representing the FOR-RESTOR project
FOR-RESTOR and SEARRP workshop to discuss opportunities and challenges of restoration in Sabah.

Project partners and collaborators

Partner Institute
Grahame Applegate University of Sunshine Coast
Petter Axelsson Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences
Nur Estya Binte Rahman Nanyang Technological University
Sugeng Budiharta National Agency for Research and Innovation, Indonesia (BRIN)
Robin Chazdon University of Sunshine Coast
Siew Chin Chua National University of Singapore
Mark Cutler University of Dundee
Stephen Elliott Chiang Mai University
Elva Gemita PT Restorasi Ekosistem Indonesia
Elia Godoong Universiti Malaysia Sabah
Laura Graham Borneo Orangutan Survival Foundation
Hannes Gaisberger Bioversity International
Robin Hayward University of Leeds
Andy Hector University of Oxford
Ulrik Ilstedt Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences
Srinivasan Kasinathan Nature Conservation Foundation
Chris Kettle Bioversity International
Daniel Lussetti Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences
Benjapan Manohan Chiang Mai University
Colin Maycock Forever Sabah
Kang Min Ngo Nanyang Technological University
Mikey O'Brien Universidad Rey Juan Carlos
Anand Osuri Nature Conservation Foundation
Melissa Payne South East Asia Rainforest Research Programme
Chris Philipson Permian Global
Beth Raine UK Centre for Ecology & Hydrology
Glen Reynolds South East Asia Rainforest Research Programme
Yap Sauwai Yayasan Sabah
Stefan Scheu University of Göttingen
Managarah Silalahi PT Restorasi Ekosistem Indonesia
Eleanor Slade Nanyang Technological University
Stuart Smith University of Brighton
Tom Swinfield University of Cambridge
David Wardle Nanyang Technological University
Charlotte Wheeler University of Cambridge
Benny Yeong University of Sheffield