Since the 1970s, NERC-chaired committees have provided a platform for bringing together the UK's national and international activities in the field of hydrology and water resources management. At present this committee is the UK Committee for National and International Hydrology, with its secretariat at the Centre for Ecology & Hydrology (CEH).

The Committee, chaired by Prof Alan Jenkins (CEH Deputy Director), aims to better coordinate UK efforts in national and international hydrological and water resources management research, by  promoting  dialogue between stakeholders, encouraging collaboration and avoiding duplication.

The membership is drawn from a wide range of departments of national government, devolved governments and agencies, together with UK representatives of international non-governmental organizations and of initiatives within international programmes (see Box 1 for a list of organisations currently represented).


Secretary UKCNIH: Dr Harry Dixon

Chairman UKCNIH: Prof Alan Jenkins

UKCNIH Secretariat:
Centre for Ecology & Hydrology

UNESCO and International Hydrology Programme logos


Through its Secretariat, the UKCNIH coordinates the UK input to the International Hydrological Programme (IHP) of UNESCO and the Hydrology and Water Resources Programme (HWRP) of the World Meteorological Organization. CEH provides UK representation at the IHP Intergovernmental Council and maintains links with the UK’s Permanent Delegation to UNESCO and the UK National Commission for UNESCO. Prof Alan Jenkins acts as the Hydrological Advisor to the UK’s Permanent Representative to WMO (the Met Office), leading the UK delegation to the Commission for Hydrology.

Get involved

The UK Committee for National and International Hydrology is always keen to hear from UK hydrologists who are currently / or would like to be involved in the UNESCO International Hydrological Programme or WMO Hydrology and Water Resources Programme. For more information, please contact the Secretariat.

Box 1 - Organisations represented on the UK Committee for National and International Hydrology

Natural Environment Research Council (NERC):
        Centre for Ecology & Hydrology (CEH)
        British Geological Survey (BGS)
Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra)
Department for International Development (DfID)
Department for Transport -  Highways Agency
Welsh Government
Scottish Government
Northern Ireland Environment Agency (NIEA)
Department of Agriculture and Rural Development, Northern Ireland (DARDNI)
Scottish Environment Protection Agency (SEPA)
Environment Agency (EA)
Met Office
British Water
UK Water Industry Research (UKWIR)
British Hydrological Society (BHS)
UK Committee of the International Association of Hydrological Sciences (IAHS)
International Association of Hydrogeologists (IAH)
UNESCO International Hydrological Programme (IHP):
        Flow Regimes from International Experimental and Network Data Programme (FRIEND)
        Hydrology, Environment, Life and Policy Programme (HELP)
        Water and Development Information for Arid Lands Programme (G-WADI)
        International Sedimentation Initiative (ISI)
        IHP Ecohydrology Initiative
        Centre of Water Law, Policy and Science, University of Dundee (UNESCO Category 2 Centre)
UK National Commission for UNESCO


Science areas: