Since the 1970s, CEH-chaired committees have provided a platform for bringing together the UK's international activities in the field of hydrology and water resources management. At present this committee is the UK Committee for International Hydrology, with its secretariat at the Centre for Ecology & Hydrology (CEH).

The Committee, chaired by Prof Alan Jenkins (CEH Deputy Director), aims to better coordinate UK contributions to international hydrological and water resources management initiatives, by promoting dialogue between organisations, encouraging collaboration and avoiding duplication.

The membership is drawn from a wide range of academic, public and private bodies with a major stake in hydrology and water resources activities, together with UK representatives of international non-governmental organizations and of initiatives within international programmes (see Box 1 for a list of organisations currently represented).


Secretary UKCIH: Dr Harry Dixon

Chairman UKCIH: Prof Alan Jenkins

UKCIH Secretariat:
Centre for Ecology & Hydrology

UNESCO and International Hydrology Programme logos


Through its Secretariat, the UKCIH coordinates the UK input to the International Hydrological Programme (IHP) of UNESCO and the Hydrology and Water Resources Programme (HWRP) of the World Meteorological Organization. CEH provides UK representation at the IHP Intergovernmental Council and maintains links with the UK’s Permanent Delegation to UNESCO and the UK National Commission for UNESCO. Prof Alan Jenkins acts as the Hydrological Advisor to the UK’s Permanent Representative to WMO (the Met Office), leading the UK delegation to the Commission for Hydrology.

Get involved

The UK Committee for International Hydrology is always keen to hear from UK hydrologists who are currently / or would like to be involved in the UNESCO International Hydrological Programme or WMO Hydrology and Water Resources Programme. For more information, please contact the Secretariat.

Box 1 - Organisations represented on the UK Committee for International Hydrology

Natural Environment Research Council (NERC)
Centre for Ecology & Hydrology (CEH)
British Geological Survey (BGS)
Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra)
Department for International Development (DfID)
Department for Transport -  Highways Agency
Welsh Government
Scottish Government
Northern Ireland Environment Agency (NIEA)
Department for Infrastructure, Northern Ireland
Scottish Environment Protection Agency (SEPA)
Environment Agency (EA)
Met Office
British Water
UK Water Industry Research (UKWIR)
British Hydrological Society (BHS)
UK Committee of the International Association of Hydrological Sciences (IAHS)
International Association of Hydrogeologists (IAH)
Flow Regimes from International Experimental and Network Data Programme (FRIEND)
International Sedimentation Initiative (ISI)
Centre of Water Law, Policy and Science, University of Dundee (UNESCO Category 2 Centre)
UK National Commission for UNESCO


Science areas: